Return to Headlines

PSJA ISD wins statewide health competition for the 5th consecutive year

PHARR – For the 5th consecutive year, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD (PSJA ISD) was named the winner of the Large School District Category of the statewide It’s Time Texas Community Challenge sponsored by H-E-B with more than 7.7 million points. The City of Pharr also earned 1st Place in the Mid-Sized Community Category. 


The It’s Time Texas Community Challenge is an annual statewide competition that unites cities, school districts, businesses, and organizations with the common goal of transforming their community’s health. Hundreds of communities across the State of Texas competed this year from Jan. 9 through March 5, 2023. 


Throughout the competition thousands of PSJA ISD employees, students, parents, and community members through a collaboration with the cities of Pharr, San Juan, and Alamo took on the health competition participating in daily exercises, hosting outdoor walks, weekly fitness classes, and even participating in a community walk kick-off event. 


As part of competition, PSJA ISD hosted its 5th Annual Healthy School Challenge where the district’s 43 schools competed and logged their healthy activities. The district will be announcing winners in the coming weeks. 


This year PSJA ISD set a district record with more than 7.7 million points earned throughout the competition.  


In addition, the cities of Pharr, San Juan, and Alamo also placed in their respective categories. Results were as follows: 


  • City of Pharr – Mid-Sized Community Winner 
  • City of San Juan – Small Community 2nd Place 
  • City of Alamo – Small Community 4th Place  


“I am extremely proud of all PSJA staff, students, parent, and community members that participated in this year’s community challenge,” said PSJA Interim Superintendent Dr. Alejandro Elias. “Seeing our community come together to work towards their health and wellness is something to be thrilled about. Staying healthy plays a vital role in the educational success of our students and community.” 


Congratulations all!