2018-2019 Spirit Award Finalists & Recipients

  • Congratulations to the four recipients of a PSJA Spirit Award, our district's first-ever district-wide recognition tied to our new leadership definition - The Spirit of PSJA.

    Throughout the school year, over 280 PSJA ISD staff members received one of the first 4 awards provided under our leadership definition, which include the following categories & characteristics:

    * Positive Engagement-Building Relationships
    * Student-Centered Excellence-Demonstrates Expertise
    *Joint Empowerment-Builds Capacity
    * Adaptive Innovation-Scans Environment

    From those nominees, a committee comprised of district administrators selected the top four to represent each category. This was a blind selection with names, locations, and titles redacted to ensure a fair process.

    To celebrate the occasion, we recognized the 16 finalists and the top recipients in each category.


    2018-2019 Spirit of PSJA Award Districtwide Finalists:

    Positive Engagement-Building Relationships
    - Noel Gonzalez, Transportation Department, Bus Driver
    - Ramona Hernandez, Clover Elementary, Pre-K Instructional Aide *
    - Rolando Perez, Alamo Middle School, Assistant Principal
    - Vasthi Rodriguez, PSJA T. Jefferson T-STEM ECHS, Teacher

    Student-Centered Excellence-Demonstrates Expertise
    - Diamantina Garcia, Cantu Elementary, Librarian
    - Claudia Lemus-Campos, Communications Department, PR Specialist
    - Catherine Mancillas, PSJA Early College HS, Librarian
    - Nora Salazar, Clover Elementary, 3rd grade Teacher *

    Joint Empowerment-Builds Capacity
    - San Juana Bocanegra, Guerra Elementary, Pre-K Teacher *
    - Sandra Garza, Palacios Elementary, Assistant Principal
    - Sandra Luera, Ford Elementary, Science Lab Teacher
    - Dina Yoder, McKeever Elementary, CLL

    Adaptive Innovation-Scans Environment
    - Margaret Garcia, Technology & Student Services, Administrative Secretary
    - Leticia Gomez, Clover Elementary, Music Teacher
    - Laura Quiroz, Anaya Elementary, Librarian
    - Sandra Velarde, Curriculum & Instruction, ELA Coordinator *